No refined sugar or other junk. No milk either. These raw vegan peanut butter cups are definitely healthier than the original Reese's.

Healthified Peanut Butter Cups and the New Discovery: Hazelnut Milk

_MG_9188

This week I went to a raw food potluck. I’ve met a group of people who have been on a raw diet for years. Wow! And I find it hard for only a day a week. But gladly, there are desserts. IMG_9740-2

I’m still not in the lucky position of owning raw peanut butter. (I thrived on this stuff!) And I’m not able to find raw peanuts either. Yes, I’ve tried everything. Everything? Why haven’t I tried to copy it before?

IMG_9742 (for two small cups)

For the chocolate:

2 tbsp coconut oil
1 tbsp cocoa or carob
1 tbsp almond butter
3 tbsp coconut flour

For the fake peanut butter:

1 tbsp coconut butter
1 tsp almond butter
(and salt + sweetener for a more peanut butter like taste)

Mix coconut oil, cocoa & nut butter together. Add the flour. Notice the fudgy texture and rejoice for a moment. Ask yourself why the coconut flour has laid untouched in the cupboard for two months. Fill two cups with 2/3 of the chocolate. Freeze for at least 10 minutes. Meanwhile mix coconut butter with almond butter and add salt and agave syrup if you like. Try not to eat too much and spread the remaining fake peanut butter on the cups. Cover with the remaining chocolate.
_MG_9208

The stories that some of those raw foodies told were very inspiring. I did believe in the healing powers of raw food but now I do even more. And since I tasted hazelnut milk, I like it even more.
_MG_9211

I always filtered the almond pulp. Hazelnut milk doesn’t need to be filtered for me. One step less! If you’ve never made hazelnut milk – it’s pretty easy.

Take two handfuls of hazelnuts. Throw in your food processor. Fill up with six times more water. Guess how much that is if you didn’t weigh the nuts. Forget to add dates. Mix on high speed.  Taste. Decide that it doesn’t need dates and praise your early form of alzheimers. Taste again. Raise your eyebrow in astonishment. Put away your pulp filter arrangement. Find a bottle to keep it refrigerated in. Dig your finger in the fresh milk. Only find an old water bottle. Taste only a little more. Remember that nobody’s home who could be watching you. Have a sip out of the processor. Fill it in a cup and enjoy it with a little Carob. Wish your loved ones were home to have a taste as well. Fill up your cup again. Be glad nobody’s home. Rejoice over the foam like a non-coffee drinking vegan who rarely has the honor of foam.  Take a look in the food processor. Feel guilty. Put away the old bottle.

7 thoughts on “Healthified Peanut Butter Cups and the New Discovery: Hazelnut Milk

  1. Caroline (the ex-sugarholic) says:

    Yum it looks good! I just made a peanut butter cup recipe recently too, although I need more peanut butter in them. You can never get too much peanut butter lol. I make and drink almond milk every day but haven’t tried hazelnut milk, judging by your words, I will have to get on top of that sooner rather than later!

    Like

    • Anja says:

      What kind of peanut butter do you use – have you found one without sugar?
      I’ll try pecan milk soon as it is one of my favorite nuts. Hopefully you’ll like the hazelnut milk just as well as I do!

      Like

      • Caroline (the ex-sugarholic) says:

        I use the one called 100% nuts – no sugar added whatsoever as it’s just nuts, blended🙂 But, it is a New Zealand brand – I am not sure where in the world you are? (Ceres Organics also do one with no sugar) If I couldn’t get a hold of those then I would probably make my own all the time.

        Like

What do you think?

