Raw Watermelon Sunflower Ice Cream Cake

Row of Trees in Meadows, Mountain Range in Background. November Mood. I fell in love with this picture when I saw it. I’m trying to recall phrases like these in my daily life although it is, as you all probably experienced it yourself, not always easy  to apply on real life. This is one of the most inspiring ones and I definitely had to share it with you.
Another thing I’d like to share is the recipe for this creamy Watermelon Ice Cream Cake. I made it the other day when the Turkey shop sold tons of freshly imported watermelons. After having a rainy day after a rainy day, the summer has finally reached us and a summery dessert had to go with that.

  KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

Oh and say hi to Mr Summer Penguine! Probably the only one who’s eager for winter to come around again…

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

I totally forgot about how fun carving could be! To this day I’ve only brought these two little creatures into life and it was many years ago.

tannzapfen      mouse

I was stunned when I looked at the Watermelon Carvings they came up with at the National Watermelon Promotion Board. Amazing!

So here is what you need for the Ice Cream:

1 big slice of watermelon

1 cup nuts (I used half cashew half walnuts)

1/2 sunflower seeds

1/3 cup dates

First pass the watermelon through a sieve so that you have mostly the flesh of watermelon left. Freeze the watermelon juice in ice cube forms. Mix the flesh with the nuts and seeds and the dates. Fill it in a bowl or popsicle forms and cut in some watermelon pieces if you like. Freeze for a few hours and let it thaw a little before serving so it unfolds the whole flavour and – more importantly – gets awesomely creamy.

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

Enjoy the summer!🙂

5 thoughts on “Raw Watermelon Sunflower Ice Cream Cake

  1. Giovannoni Claudine says:

    what’s a surprise to find this blog… jummy delicious and lovely and thoughts
    I understand the lost feelings of people looking for something that seems impossible to find…
    the joy within us… and small flashes of ideas and dreams, and how important!!! taking us back to our ephemeral path!
    Serenity and see you dreamer as me
    claudine

    Like

What do you think?

