Foodie Penpal #1, May 2013

xFPP-post.jpg.pagespeed.ic.KYaFXoYVom

This is a different form of having a penpal: Instead of writing each other letters, you send each other food! What a lovely idea. Once you signed up, you wait until a new month starts when you get matched with another person somewhere in Europe (not the same as the one sending you a package). You get in touch and find out about likes and dislikes in terms of food. Until the 15th of the month you have to time to put together some goodies with the spending limit of 15£ and a personal note. At the end of the month all blogs written about the received package get collected, to see more reveal posts look here.
As this was my first time participating in the Foodie Penpal I was quite excited when I saw the big envelop in the mail. Maya’s gifts found their way from the UK down to Switzerland. So here is what it contained:

I wrote her I am not really into industrial food, so I quite enjoyed the raspberry candy. It’s just apple, raspberry & pear, yummy! I haven’t had candy for a loong time and this reminded me of when I was little and always bought exactly this kind before I was heading home from the public swimming pool.

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERAI already got addicted to this Belgian chocolate. Since I’ve gone vegan, dark chocolate has become my favorite. I started to make out different kinds of dark chocolate as in earlier times, dark chocolate was dark chocolate. This one has a great flavour. A super chocolaty aroma unfolds in your mouth when you let it melt. Makes it hard to stop eating. Thanks!

I guess I was a little of disappointed becuase it did not include a note. That is okay though, she told me that her finals are coming up as well as her 18th birthday.  I told her not invest too much time since I too had my finals this month and surely know how stressful this time can be.

So again, thanks a lot, Maya!

For more information on what Foodie Pen Pals is or for how to join in, have a look at Carol Anne’s blog.

What do you think?

